Wifey Wednesday: 5 Love Languages



Screen Shot 2017-01-12 at 8.57.21 PM.jpg


I’ll wanted to let you in on a little secret. There is something that prepared me for my marriage [outside of prayer, support, marriage counseling… and PRAYER lol].  It is a book and assessment from Gary Chapman’s entitled 5 Love Languages.

I read the book a number of years ago during my single years due to so many great reviews on both the book and application of the assessment. When my husband and I began courting, we decided to take the assessment. If you are not familiar with the “5 Love Languages” – there are five categories that speak to how you feel loved. They are Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality of Time and Physical Touch.

I encourage you to read the book to gain a deeper understanding of each concept, however, I’ll provide a quick summary.

Words of Affirmation
This language uses words to affirm other people.

Acts of Service
For these people, actions speak louder than words.

Receiving Gifts
For some people, what makes them feel most loved is to receive a gift.

Quality of Time
This language is all about giving the other person your undivided attention.

Physical Touch
To this person, nothing speaks more deeply than appropriate touch.

My husband’s love language is Physical Touch (with Words of Affirmation being a VERY close second). My love language is Quality of Time and Words of Affirmation.  Let me tell you …. knowing my husband’s love language really helped me to understand what I needed to do to keep him happy. I am no longer the one that hugs a lot (old me) but I had to learn that is what he enjoys. Therefore I make it a point to show him that level of affection because it is important to him. Marriage is all about sacrifice and understanding your mate.

The other thing I love about the “5 Love Languages” concept is that it can be applied in other ways such as friendships. If you value your friends you do your best to be there to support, encourage and understand them. This assessment shows how a person feels loved and appreciated by others.



The free quiz can be taken here or here. Online tools can be found on the official website.


To my followers who are single – Take a look into the “5 Love Languages” book and assessment even during this season. You will be able to apply it to your friendships and ultimately your future mate. It is very insightful and a good step in not only knowing yourself, but others.


To my followers who are married - Take a look into the “5 Love Languages” book and assessment. You will be able to apply it to your marriage and even friendships. I encourage you to make an attempt to get to know you mate in a different way. Make the adjustments needed to assist in the longevity of your marriage.


Learn to love in a way that brings happiness to others!

For His glory only,
Danielle J.